LEN Open Water Cup, 5 th leg, Copenhagen (DEN): German double in the canals

The 5th and final leg of the LEN Open Water Cup in Copenhagen offered the usual excitements for the swimmers who covered the 6km course swimming in the canals around the Danish Parliament. It ended in a double German win: Soeren Meissner was the best among the men and compatriot Leonie Beck came first in the women’s race.


Men: 1. Soeren Meissner (GER) 1:08:22, 2. Yuval Safra (ISR) 1:08:25, 3. Denis Addev (RUS) 1:08:25

Women: 1. Leonie Beck (GER) 1:13:24, 2. Hannah Moore (USA) 1:13:46, 3. Leo Boy (GER) 1:13:55

Soeren Meissner’s speed was unmatchable for the others who couldn’t keep up with the German whose powerful swim brought him the title in the Danish capital. Israel’s Yuval Safra got the silver this time after his bronze in Ohrid two weeks ago, he just out-touched Russia’s Denis Addev.

”This was the first time I swam in Copenhagen” Meissner said. “I’ve heard it is a really good competition. Indeed it was fun to compete here. The race was okay, I hoped to come first but I wasn’t sure, so I’m satisfied.”

Beck showed her class in the women’s race. The German won the bronze in the 5km race at the World Championships in July so she was the favourite here and she landed the title with ease, gaining 22 seconds on runner-up US swimmer Hannah Moore (though it’s a LEN event, competitions are open for everyone).

“I saw that there were a lot of good female swimmers entering this race” Beck said. “It was a top competition so I did my best and hoped for a top three finish. It is always beautiful to swim in Copenhagen with the skyline and the Black Diamond building. So it was a nice swim.”

Medallists of the 2019 stages

Leg 1 – Eilat (ISR) – 31 March

Men: 1. Marc-Antoine Olivier (FRA), 2. David Aubry (FRA), 3. Kirill Ambrosimov (RUS)

Women: 1. Lara Grangeon (FRA), 2. Aurelie Muller (FRA), 3. Oceane Cassignol (FRA)

Leg 2 – Brive La Gaillarde (FRA) – 23 May

Men: 1. David Aubry (FRA), 2. Athanasios Kynigakis (GRE), 3. Alberto Martinez (ESP)

Women: 1. Paula Ruiz (ESP), 2. Sharon van Rouwendaal (NED), 3. Angelica Andre (POR)

Leg 3 – Barcelona (ESP) – 29 June

Men: 1. Andrea Manzi (ITA), 2. Matej Kozubek (CZE), 3. Pol Gil Tarazona (ESP)

Women: 1. Ginevra Taddeucci (ITA), 2. Silvia Ciccarella (ITA), 3. Ellen Olsson (SWE)

Leg 4 – Ohrid (MKD) – 18 August

Men: 1. Athanasios Kynigakis (GRE), 2. Daniel Szekelyi (HUN), 3. Yuval Safra (ISR)

Women: 1. Angelica Andre (POR), 2. Ginevra Taddeucci (ITA), 3. Angela Maurer (GER)

Leg 5 – Copenhagen (DEN, 6km) – 31 August

Men: 1. Soeren Meissner (GER), 2. Yuval Safra (ISR), 3. Denis Addev (RUS)

Women: 1. Leonie Beck (GER), 2. Hannah Moore (USA), 3. Leo Boy (GER)

Press release from LEN, images courtesy of Jesper Westley and Michael Vienø


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from Swimmer’s Daily

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.