Danish Swimming boasts record many swimmers Round Christiansborg


Saturday 29 August 2015, the canals around the Danish parliament in Copenhagen were venue for the 9th Round Christiansborg and Krüger Relay, where a record number of almost 3300 swimmers participated.

The weather was as beautiful as ever, when the heats of 65 swimmers in each set out from 9:00 to 15:30, to complete the 2000m course around Christiansborg Palace. Individual Round Christiansborg swimmers swam the full 2000, while the Krüger Relay event was 4x500m.

The number of Christiansborg participants has risen first sharply and then steadily, from the 260 in the inaugural 2006 event, to the 2500 last year and then 2970 now. Add to this the 65 Krüger Relay teams, and we end up with 3230 participants.

Winner of the women’s 2015 Round Christiansborg was Lotte Friis (Gentofte, DEN) with a time of 22:13, followed by Maria Grandt (Copenhagen, DEN) in 24:38 and Emma Wael (Kastrup, DEN) in 24.50.


Winner of the men’s 2015 Round Christiansborg was Daniel Skaaning (VAT, DEN) in 22:26, followed by Markus Krøyer Svendsen (DEN) in 22:36 and Hannibal Steenfos (Copenhagen, DEN) in 22:55.


Winners of the 2015 Krüger Relay were LF Swim in 22:57, followed by Copenwater Dreamteam in 23:56 and TrygFonden Kystlivredning in 24:28.


Photos courtesy of Michael Vienø / Danish Swimming

About Author

Production engineer and certified swim coach. Full-time IT consultant, spare-time swimming aficionado. 2 sons, 2 daughters and a wife. President of the Faroe Islands Swimming Association. Likes to run :-)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: