SA swimming team named for Kazan


Swimming South Africa (SSA) announced a five-member squad on Tuesday, revealing a significant cut from the 17-member team that competed at the 2013 showpiece in Barcelona.

The South African contingent would be spearheaded by defending 100m and 200m champion Chad le Clos and fellow Olympic gold medallist Cameron van der Burgh, who earned gold and silver in the 50m and 100m breaststroke finals at the previous global spectacle.

Van der Burgh would compete in both his specialist distances, the federation confirmed, and Le Clos was geared up for three events, including the 50m fly.

They would be joined by another breaststroke speedster, Ayrton Sweeney, rising middle-distance star Myles Brown and the versatile Sebastien Rousseau.

While the indoor swimmers were limited in numbers, however, a 44-member squad was named to represent the country across five codes.

The squad also included a six-member open water swimming team led by former 5km bronze medallist Chad Ho, men’s and women’s water polo sides, and synchro and diving representatives.

Read The Citizen

About Author

Production engineer and certified swim coach. Full-time IT consultant, spare-time swimming aficionado. 2 sons, 2 daughters and a wife. President of the Faroe Islands Swimming Association. Likes to run :-)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: