FINA Swimming World Cup 2015 to be held in 50m-pools


The 2015 edition of the FINA Swimming World Cup will be highlighted by a main novelty: all the eight meets of the competition will be held in 50m-pools. Traditionally held in short-course, this change is aimed at increasing the participation of National Federations and athletes to the FINA Swimming World Cup. Moreover, each of the 2015 Series meets will be a qualifying event for the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro (BRA).

The FINA Swimming World Cup will distribute over US$ 2 million in prize money and comprises three clusters: the first one in Moscow and Paris-Chartres, the second one including Hong Kong, Beijing and Singapore, and cluster three comprising Tokyo, Doha and Dubai. The first meet of the series will take place in the Russian capital on August 11-12, a couple of days after the conclusion of the 16th FINA World Championships in Kazan (RUS).

“Our main goal is to continuously improve the value and the exposure of the FINA Swimming World Cup, held in great venues and prestigious cities around the planet. The increased opportunity for the Olympic qualification will constitute in 2015 an additional motivation for our swimmers”, considered the FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione.

The calendar of the 2015 FINA Swimming World Cup is as follows:

August 11-12 – Moscow (RUS)
August 15-16 – Paris-Chartres (FRA)
September 25-26 – Hong Kong (HKG)
September 29-30 – Beijing (CHN)
October 3-4 – Singapore (SIN)
October 28-29 – Tokyo (JPN)
November 2-3 – Doha (QAT)
November 6-7 – Dubai (UAE)


About Author

Production engineer and certified swim coach. Full-time IT consultant, spare-time swimming aficionado. 2 sons, 2 daughters and a wife. President of the Faroe Islands Swimming Association. Likes to run :-)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: