First Time Ever: Underwater 4K Resolution Broadcasting with a Smartphone & HDBaseT

0

On September 12, 2014, the first ever 4K video captured underwater by a smartphone will be broadcast to more than half-a-million viewers live, thanks to HDBaseT technology. The operation will involve more than 200 divers, instructors, professional photographers and production crew, for a 20-m dive along a shipwreck in the Red Sea, Eilat, Israel. With the help of HDBaseT, the unique diving event will be broadcast live on YouTube and potentially allow millions of viewers around the world to take part of it, and as such set a new Guinness World Record of the “Most Viewers of a Live Shipwreck Dive.”

The dive will take place during the 10th anniversary celebrations of the annual “Eilat Red Sea International Underwater Photo Competition.” The dive will be photographed by two high-definition Panasonic cameras (and distributed by Satlink), and also by a 4K-enabled smartphone. To deliver the live feed from the smartphone to the surface, an HDBaseT transmitter will be connected to a receiver over a simple LAN cable to be uploaded live on YouTube. No other solution in the market today can transmit 4K video transmissions over the long distances required for underwater broadcasting.

The YouTube broadcasting is essential to break the record of the “Most Viewers of a Live Shipwreck Dive,” as there are no limits on the concomitant number of viewers. Anyone with a computer or smartphone connected to the Internet will be able to experience this dive.

To be part of this historical moment, log into www.eilatredsea.com on September 12th, at 9:30 am GMT (4:30 am EST, 1:30 am PST, 7:30 pm Sydney NSW.) Preparations will start 30 minutes beforehand.

Read BusinessWire

About Author

Production engineer and certified swim coach. Full-time IT consultant, spare-time swimming aficionado. 2 sons, 2 daughters and a wife. President of the Faroe Islands Swimming Association. Likes to run :-)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: