FINA OWS Grand Prix 2014: Geijo and Afanevich take gold in 88km race


Read the press release on

A total 25 swimmers from 11 countries took the plunge in the second and longest leg of the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2014, organised in Hernandarias-Parana (ARG) on February 9.

Home favourite Pilar Geijo turned the 88km demanding effort in a class of her own, winning the women’s event with a comfortable margin in 9h27m28s. The standout swimmer remains unbeaten in this race since 2010. Silvie Rybarova (CZE), who finished first in Race 1 a week earlier, picked up silver in 9h48m07s while Vicenia Navarro from Venezuela made her Grand Prix podium debut with the bronze, clocking 9h51m48s.

The men’s race was won by Russia’s Ivan Afanevich in 9h20m38s, registering his first win of the year in the Grand Prix circuit. Mohammed Saleh from Syria, who placed third in this race last year, proceeded to win silver in a time of 9h22m42s. Tomi Stefanovski (MKD) completed the podium, crossing the finish line at 9h26m55s. These podium appearances are a nice boost for the three medallists, who have been regular competitors in the FINA Grand Prix circuit for several years.

FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix 2014 calendar:

  • Race 1: February 2 in Santa Fe-Coronda (ARG, 57km)
  • Race 2: February 9 in Hernandarias-Parana (ARG, 88km)
  • NEXT RACE: March 29 in Manzanillo (MEX, 15km)
  • Race 4: July 26 in Lac St-Jean (CAN, 32km)
  • Race 5: August 2 in Lac Magog (CAN, 34km)
  • Race 6: date TBC in Ohrid Lake (MKD, 33km)
  • Race 7: September 6 in Capri-Napoli (ITA, 36km)

About Author

Production engineer and certified swim coach. Full-time IT consultant, spare-time swimming aficionado. 2 sons, 2 daughters and a wife. President of the Faroe Islands Swimming Association. Likes to run :-)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: