FINA nominates five to form new Facilities Committee


Interesting news here on

The Bureau has confirmed the creation of a Facilities Committee, formed by the following members:

  • Joaquin Pujol (ESP), Chairman
  • Kate McKnight (GBR), Honorary Secretary
  • Per Rune Eknes (NOR), Member
  • Mick Nelson (USA), Member
  • Member from China, to be confirmed.

The aim of this Committee will be to deal and update the FINA Facilities Rules to be considered at the FINA General Congress in July 2013 in Barcelona (ESP) and to advice on the construction of aquatic centres (swimming pools).

On a more somber note, for the FINA Technical Open Water Swimming Committee, Mr. Andrea Prayer (ITA) has been nominated as new acting Honorary Secretary, in place of the suspended Mr. Flavio Bomio.


About Author

Production engineer and certified swim coach. Full-time IT consultant, spare-time swimming aficionado. 2 sons, 2 daughters and a wife. President of the Faroe Islands Swimming Association. Likes to run :-)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: