Pellegrini, Payne, Lurz and Alex are the 2011 LEN swimmers of the year


Silver medallist Alexander Dale OenThe European Swimming Federation LEN today announced the 2011 Len Athletes of the Year, elected by representatives of the 51 LEN Member Federations as well as aquatic journalists from all over Europe. In the pool swimming category, the men’s award was decided by a margin of very few votes in favour of Norway’s Alexander Dale Oen, while Italy’s Federica Pellegrini easily won the women’s award. In the open water swimming category, Germany’s Thomas Lurz won as easily the men’s award, and Great Britain’s Keri-Anne Payne the women’s award. Now, that will make a pretty picture in Szczecin in December :-)

See official press release: LEN PR45-11 LEN Award Winners 2011

Image courtesy of Helgi Halldórsson/Freddi, cc by-nc-nd 2.0

About Author

Production engineer and certified swim coach. Full-time IT consultant, spare-time swimming aficionado. 2 sons, 2 daughters and a wife. President of the Faroe Islands Swimming Association. Likes to run :-)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: